Skip to content

Fluffy Sunday Pancakes

January 16, 2011

It’s a rare day off for Daddy, and we like making it as sweet and warm as possible.  Today we are playing Wii, bundling up for a walk, napping, heating up leftover sweet potato soup and pizza.

We decided to have pancakes instead of French toast so we could use our bread for pb&j later or tomorrow, so I tried a new recipe that I found when I googled “best pancake recipe ever.”

Best Pancakes Ever from AllRecipes.com

3/4 cup milk
2 tablespoons white vinegar
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
2 tablespoons butter, melted

butter for the skillet

Mix the milk and vinegar in a medium bowl and leave to sour for 5 minutes.  Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Whisk egg and butter into the milk and pour the dry stuff into the wet stuff and whisk away the lumps.



Heat a skillet (I only have a medium iron skillet) and coat with butter.  I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup filled about two thirds of the way filled with batter to scoop the batter and pour into the skillet.  When bubbles appear on the surface, flip and cook on the other side, about, oh, a minute?  Less?  These babies cook fastish.





PS- They were the best pancakes we’ve ever had.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 11:08 AM

    We have the same plates!! 🙂 Mine have never had the best pancakes EVER on them, though.

    Also, Irene looks somewhat like Sally Draper in these photos.

    Love you!

  2. January 17, 2011 3:40 PM

    That’s so funny- Irene reminds me of Sally Draper sometimes, too. Kinda sad in context, but not if you imagine Irene can be a super well-adjusted, talented child actor. No, that’s sad too. (Although, did you see Natalie Portman last night? She seemed so happy and blessed. Made me feel less creeped out about celebrity for a minute. Also, I really loved Black Swan, so I think she deserved to win.) Anyway, I remember eating pizza off an octagon over Christmas- I actually got those plates from a flea market in VA, well, or, I got them from Richie’s grandmother who got them from a flea market in VA. Did you?

  3. January 18, 2011 2:35 PM

    Irene is a jolly, better-follicled Sally Draper with two non-narcissistic parents who love each other, and she was born in ’06 instead of, um, ’54…but other than that, TOTALLY similar. I’m never going to NOT see it from this point onward.

    Natalie homewrecked her way into that relationship for sure, and I think her baby daddy is kind of ugly, but I will forever love her for both Black Swan and her SNL Digital Short. I want to see Black Swan again, actually. I want to see it right now!

    Oh, there is NO WAY those plates weren’t purchased at a flea market. 🙂

    Really, I can’t WAIT to have an actual kitchen again. We have cabinets just full of gorgeous Pyrex, and tons of appliances that are just collecting dust. Did you know that this apartment doesn’t even have a working oven? We’re so limited here that we can’t even cook a freakin’ frozen pizza. Two more months on our lease — and then we find a place with an oven, I SWEAR. And a dishwasher, too, dammit!

  4. niacovoni permalink
    January 27, 2011 8:32 PM

    I can’t believe how outstanding this is. The descriptions, the photos, the step-by-step demonstration…..how in the world do you make time for all this! It is seriously like a cooking show online!

Leave a Reply

